quit smoking support @ woofmang.com
people helping people beat the addiction to nicotine

help support our communityDonate FAQFAQ SearchSearch RSS FeedRSS Feed MemberlistMemberlist RegisterRegister ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

I want to quit!!

Post new topic   Reply to topic    quit smoking support @ woofmang.com Forum Index > introductions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
princess28

Quit Date:
May 3, 2010

PostPosted: April 26, 2010 1:29 PM    Post subject: I want to quit!! Reply with quote

I have been smoking for 12 years and I am so scared to quit. I have my quit date set for a week. I am going to try doing it with the nicotine patches but I am so nervous. When I stress or get in an argument that is the first thing I go for. If I am in a place that no smoking is allowed and it has been a few hours since I have had a cigg I get horrible anxiety. I am scared also of getting so bitchy and gaining weight. I have a 17 month old dauther and a fiance that hates smoking that I want to quit for. Also, for myself. I know it will be very rewarding but that does not make it any easier or make me any less scared. Crying or Very sad
kevin
Site Admin

Quit Date:
-

PostPosted: April 26, 2010 9:32 PM    Post subject: Reply with quote

you can do this. the key is to have reasons that are stronger than your fear, and generally speaking, quitting for somebody else won't give you that; you might want to check out some of the sites on our links page (especially the freedom from smoking program) to get some help with building your motivation.

keep choosing life!

kevin

the zen of the quit
kannprint

Quit Date:
April 10, 2004

PostPosted: April 27, 2010 9:02 AM    Post subject: Reply with quote

Pull from your inner strength, Princess. As Kevin wrote, check out all the sites available and do work the modules at the American Lung Association's Freedom From Smoking site.